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DATE:
March 21, 2011
TO:
Vaccines For Children Providers
FROM:
Rubén A Tapia, MPH. Director


DHH OPH Immunization Program

Subject:
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS…MCV-4
1.  Will children 11-15 be "required" to receive the second dose?

Answer: No.  The routine recommendation is to provide the first MCV-4 at age 11 or 12 years and a booster dose at 16. Our current school law requires MCV-4 vaccination for all 11 - 12 years of age to receive one MCV-4. The booster at this time is not going to be school requirement in SY 2011 – 2012 for sixth graders and no changes are being considered at this time. 

2.  Will colleges require a dose within 5 years?  If so, is this only for college freshman age 21 years or less?

Answer: No requirement change for the SY 2011 -2012 and no changes are being considered at this time for school of Higher Learning.  Schools of Higher Learning usually follow our recommendations and rarely implement requirements that supersede LA DHH OPH Immunization recommendations.  

3.  Please clarify the revaccination of adolescents who received first dose at 13-15 years who now need second dose at 16-18 years--how long should we wait between doses (8 weeks is minimum)?

Answer: According to ACIP January 28, 2011 / Vol 60 / No. 3 at this time the minimum interval between doses of MCV4 conjugate vaccine is 8 weeks.  

For reference please see Immunization Policies and Procedures Manual- 2011, page 139.

� EMBED Word.Picture.8  ���





Bobby Jindal


GOVERNOR








Bruce D. Greenstein


SECRETARY








State of Louisiana


Department of Health and Hospitals


Immunization Program





Please route to:


Clinical supervisor


Medical director


Clinic manager


Clinic staff


Pharmacy


Vaccine staff











2
1450 L and A Road ▪ Metairie, Louisiana  70001
Phone #: 504/838-5300 ▪ Fax #: 504/838-5206 ▪ WWW.DHH.LOUISIANA.GOV
“An Equal Opportunity Employer”


_1280052830.doc

